Mastering Upstream Habits

The power of upstream habits, inspired by James Clear, to create a ripple effect of positive change. Insights from The Myth of Sisyphus and Shoe Dog.

Hey there.

I hope you've had a great week.

What I've made for you

Book notesThe Myth of Sisyphus by Albert Camus
I can appreciate Camus' stance. The work is the reward.
The book was interesting, but I was mostly eager to read the last chapter - about the myth and his exposition thereof.

Book notesShoe Dog by Phil Knight
I enjoyed reading Shoe Dog. Good read with a few golden nuggets.

Cultivate good upstream habits

This is a pretty interesting idea I stumbled upon while listening to James Clear and Tim Ferriss talk about habits

Consider habits that are "upstream" of other things you want.
For example, doing a workout can make you more prone to do good stuff for yourself for the rest of the day.

I know this from myself: I'm less likely to eat unhealthy foods or overeat.
Likewise, if I get enough sleep, I'm less likely to make poor dietary choices, procrastinate (poor life choices), etc.

Meditation is also a common example.

You can consider these the "lead dominoes" that trigger other good habits.

The quality of your actions & behavior is really won the day, month, years before.

Just do the smallest viable thing — just show up. Create momentum to make progress.

Quote

Enlightenment isn't found with a full stomach or on a soft pillow.

Conrad Anker